Saturday, August 31, 2013

Hyderabad Hotshots: The winners of the first installment of Indian Badminton League (IBL)

The 18-day long badminton extravaganza IBL culminated with the tournament favourites Hyderabad Hotshots lifting the trophy at Mumbai.
HH, led by their start player Saina Nehwal defeated Awadhe Warriors 3-1 to clinch the $1 million tournament.

After loosing the first match of the evening, HH came back strongly at AW with Saina defeating P Sindhu with ease in two games 21-15, 21-7. The world championship bronze medal winner made a lot of unforced errors and seemed completely outplayed by her senior shuttler Saina who closed the match with ease. And after that stunning performance, the night was all but conquered by HH. The finals were sealed with the win of Ajay Jayaram over RMV Guru Dutt 10-21 21-17 11-7.    

Saina Nehwal, who was awarded the player of the tournament played brilliantly through out and had remained unbeaten in the tournament. This spectacular performance by the Hyderabad team makes the claim of the city as the badminton capital of India even stronger.

The Indian Badminton League (IBL) has been a great success and had done a great deal to increase the fan base for badminton in a cricket dominated nation. The stands were mostly filled and the event got a good amount of reception from the masses. Everyone will be looking forward to the next edition of IBL, hopefully next year.

No comments:

Post a Comment